BJC General Counsel Holly Hollman was recognized for her work defending religious freedom with the 2018 Abner V. McCall Religious Liberty Award from the Baylor Line Foundation. The award honors alumni and friends of Baylor University who, by their lives and actions, exemplify the courage and dedication of McCall to the belief in and commitment to religious liberty. McCall was a justice of the Texas Supreme Court in 1956, dean of the Baylor Law School from 1948 to 1959, and Baylor president from 1961 to 1981.

Upon receiving the award, Hollman commended the Foundation for maintaining Baylor’s commitment to religious liberty and for the honor named for such a beloved Baylor leader. As a friend of Baylor, she noted the many connections between the university and the Baptist Joint Committee, spanning from the BJC’s first executive director, J.M. Dawson, to its newest staff members. Hollman was one of nine people recognized for achievements at the 2018 Alumni Hall of Fame awards gala, held January 20 in Waco, Texas.

Previous recipients of the McCall Award include former BJC Executive Directors James M. Dunn, Brent Walker and James Wood; John F. Baugh; Melissa Rogers; and Rep. Chet Edwards.

This article appeared in the January/February 2018 edition of Report from the Capital. You can also read the digital version of the magazine or view it as a PDF